Home | Order of Celtic Wolves

The Celtic Sea is the area of the Atlantic Ocean off the south coast of Ireland bounded to the east by Saint George’s Channel. Other borders are the Bristol Channel, the English Channel, and the Bay of Biscay. It is adjacent to parts of Wales, Cornwall, Devon, and Brittany. The southern and western limits are decided by the continental shelf, which drops away sharply into the Atlantic Ocean. The Isles of Scilly are a group of small islands in the sea, in an area renowned for more shipwrecks than any other part of the world.

The Celtic Sea receives its name from the Celtic heritage of the adjacent lands. The name was first proposed by E. W. L. Holt at a 1921 meeting in Dublin of fisheries experts from Great Britain, France, and Ireland to recognise that it wasn’t just a British sea. Prior to that the northern portion of…

View original post 111 more words